Posts Tagged 'Voting Record'

2011 Legislative Scorecards available

What legislation of interest to libraries did Maryland’s legislators support in 2011? Check the American Library Association’s Legislative Scorecards for the Senate and the House to find out. You can thank legislators for their support and focus your message on other areas where they could increase their support.

Anti-net neutrality bill defeated in Senate

On Thursday, the Senate defeated SJ Res 6. The bill would have overturned the Federal Communications Commission’s (FCC) net neutrality decision. (For some background on this bill, see the Legislative Panel blog post.)

Thank you to everyone who contacted our Senators asking them to oppose this bill! Senators Mikulski and Cardin both voted against the bill. Please take a moment to thank them for their support of net neutrality. You can do this using Capwiz.


2010 Congress voting record available

Wondering how your elected officials voted on library legislation?  Then check out the 2010 Legislative Scorecards compiled by the American Library Association (ALA) Washington Office.

USA PATRIOT Act extension bill fails in House

Last night, the House voted on HR 514—a bill to extend, with no changes, the expiring provisions of the USA PATRIOT Improvement and Reauthorization Act of 2005 and Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004 until December 8, 2011. The bill did not pass.

Maryland’s delegation had an interesting split on the vote:

  • For: Harris, Ruppersberger, Hoyer and Van Hollen
  • Against: Sarbanes, Edwards, Bartlett, Sarbanes

Background information on this bill and issue from the American Library Association (ALA), as well as details on S 290 (a version of the bill that is supported by ALA) are available.

2009 Legislative Scorecards released

The ALA Washington Office released the Legislative Scorecards for 2009.  They show if members of Congress voted or supported libraries on various issues.  

Maryland’s legislators supported only a few library issues.  Both Senators and Van Hollen supported FY10 LSTA funding.  All of the members of the House voted for HR 35, the Presidential Records Act Amendments of 2009.  And Kratovil sponsored HR 3762, the Congressional Research Service Electronic Accessibility Act of 2009. 

 The 2009 Legislative Scorecards also provide bill descriptions.

Past Posts

%d bloggers like this: