Senate Committee amendment would begin shift of pension costs to local governments

The Maryland Library Association and its Legislative Panel, along with other stakeholders like the Maryland State Education Association (MSEA) and the Maryland Association of Counties (MACo) are watching carefully the amendment passed in the Senate’s Budget and Tax Committee that would begin the process of passing the costs of the teacher pensions back to the counties.

While this amendment passed in the Senate committee, it still has to be voted on, both on the Senate floor and then in the House.  Current wisdom is that any attempt to pass the teacher pensions back to the counties will fail this year because of its controversial nature in an election year, but expect it back next year.  We will continue to monitor the situation.  Check this blog for any future updates.

For a little more detail  about the amendment, check out the Gazette newspaper online article entitled “State Senate budget panel approves teacher pension shift.”

2 Responses to “Senate Committee amendment would begin shift of pension costs to local governments”


  1. 1 Pedro Clemson April 4, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!!

  2. 2 Fendi Baguette April 8, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    I’ve been looking around mdliblegislative.wordpress.com and really am impressed by the good content here. I work the nightshift at my job and it really gets boring. I have been coming here for the past couple nights and reading. I simply needed to let you know that I’ve been enjoying what I have seen and I look forward to reading more.


Leave a comment




Past Posts